Canada captures gold in China with win over U.S. (VIDEO)

Source: Patrick DeLottinville, Football Canada


Pair of Rocheleau receiving touchdowns leads Canada to victory

Harbin, China (July 10, 2016) – Canada’s Junior National Team defeated the United States 24 – 6 in the gold medal game at the 2016 IFAF U19 World Championship in China on July 10.

Canada and the U.S. have faced one another in each of the first four U19 World Championship finals.
With a victory in the latest installment, Canada has evened up its U19 World Championship finals record at two wins and two losses. Canada previous captured gold at the 2012 worlds in Austin, Texas to go along with a pair of silver medals from the inaugural 2009 event in Canton, Ohio as well as the 2014 edition in Kuwait.
Photo credit: Ben Whiting

Photo credit: Ben Whiting

The latest win also marks outgoing head coach Warren Craney’s final game as head of the program. Craney served as defensive coordinator in 2009 and 2012, before first adding the head coach responsibilities in preparation for the 2014 worlds.
“I’m very proud of these men, they overcame a lot and worked their butts off!” said Craney of this team which faced both Mexico and the U.S., the defending bronze and gold medalist, twice during tournament play. “They executed the game plan to perfection.”
The win is even more impressive considering that early on, Canada looked to be in serious trouble.
Photo credit: USA Football

Photo credit: USA Football

Following a failed Vincent Blanchard field goal from the 32-yard line, quarterback Lindell Stone found a wide open U.S. receiver down the sideline, however, linebacker Nick Cross (Regina, SK) had other ideas. He neutralized the threat as he forced and recovered a U.S. fumble at the Canada 24-yard line.
Canada was unable to capitalize on the turnover. On their following drive, the U.S. responded, taking an early 3-0 lead on a 22-yard field goal.
The U.S. would regain possession on the following kickoff as the ball was recovered by an American defender at the Canada 26-yard line. The Canada defense was able to hold the U.S. at bay, forcing a field goal attempt that missed the mark.
photo 8
Canada pulled ahead two plays into their following series as quarterback Dimitri Morand (Gatineau, QC) found receiver François Rocheleau (Saint-Basile-le-Grand, QC) along the sideline for an 80-yard touchdown, giving Canada the lead 7-3.
Canada would not look back as a 47-yard Félix Lussier-Roy (Sherbrooke, QC) touchdown run would widen the lead, 14-3, heading into halftime.
The defending silver medalists would strike again early in the second half as quarterback Dimitri Morand connected with François Rocheleau, once again, this time on a 67-yard play-action touchdown strike to give Canada a 21-3 advantage. With a pair of touchdown catches, the André-Grasset receiver earned Canada’s player of the game honours.
Photo credit: USA Football

Photo credit: USA Football

On the following series, the U.S. came out gunning, but the Canada defense was equal to the task as Bruno Lagacé (Boucherville, QC) stepped in front of a long Lindell Stone pass to give Canada the ball at midfield.
Canada capitalized on the turnover as Vincent Blanchard (St-Germain-de-Grantham, QC) nailed a 40-yard field goal attempt to increase the Canada third quarter lead 24-3.
Nearing the end of the third quarter, the U.S. added a 27-yard field goal to decrease the deficit 24-6, but that’s as close as they’d get. Team USA continued to press the Canada defense throughout the final quarter, looking to narrow the deficit, however, the Canada defense stood strong and held an explosive American squad without a touchdown on the evening.
The IFAF U19 World Championships are held every two years since 2012 and Canada will enter the 2018 event as the defending champions.
Photo credit: USA Football

Photo credit: USA Football

2016 IFAF U19 World Championship Schedule:

Team Canada gold 2016 IFAF

(Note: All times are local to Harbin, and the schedule is subject to change.)
Wednesday, June 29
1 p.m. – No. 6 Australia vs. No. 7 China (B2)
Bye – No. 5 Japan vs. No. 8 TBD (bye) (B1)
Thursday, June 30
1 p.m. – No. 2 Canada vs. No. 3 Mexico (A2)
4 p.m. – No. 1 USA vs. No. 4 Austria (A1)
Saturday, July 2
Bye – Loser B2 (China) vs. Loser B1 (bye) (B3)
4 p.m. – Winner B1 (Japan) vs. Winner B2 (Australia) (B4)
Sunday, July 3
1 p.m. – Loser A2 (Mexico) vs. Loser A1 (Austria) (A3)
5 p.m. – Winner A1 (USA) vs. Winner A2 (Canada) (A4)
Wednesday, July 6
Bye – Loser A3 (Austria) vs. Loser B3 (bye) (B5)
4 p.m. – Loser B4 (Australia) vs. Winner B3 (China) (B6)
Thursday, July 7
1 p.m. – Winner A4 (USA) vs. Winner B4 (Japan) (A5)
5 p.m. – Loser A4 (Canada) vs. Winner A3 (Mexico) (A6)
Saturday, July 9
Bye – Seventh-place game (Loser B6 (China) vs. Loser B5)
4 p.m. – Fifth place game (Winner B5 (Austria) vs. Winner B6 (Australia))
Sunday, July 10-**
1 p.m. – Bronze Medal Game (Loser A6 (Mexico) vs. Loser A5 (Japan))

5 p.m. – Gold Medal Game (Winner A5 (USA) vs. Winner A6 (Canada))

**-Kickoff times for July 10 will be switched if Austria participates in the Gold Medal Game to accommodate travel schedules.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply