AFL expands to 9 teams

The AFL held our Annual General Meeting on Saturday in Spruce Grove. Please find the below the significant events from the meeting:

1. The Lancaster Legion & Sherwood Park Renegades have both been accepted as probationary franchises for the 2010 season. This brings the AFL roster to 9 teams for the 2010 season.

2. 2010 schedule was adopted. We will play a 9 game regular season. Exact days & times will be announced as bookings are confirmed. The schedule will be posted shortly.

3. 3 AFL Bylaw ammendments were adopted:
– the fine for teams missing an AFL meeting was raised from $100 to $500
– team fees payable to the AFL was raised from $1250 to $1750. The travel grant for the AFL Champion during travel years was raised from $5000 to $9000
– the 2nd tie break criteria for determing final standings was changed from Total Points For (Head to Head) to Points For/Points Against differentitial (Head to Head)

4. National Championship
Will be hosted by the Parkland Panthers in Spruce Grove on Saturday September 25th.

5. The AFL Championship Trophy has a new name. The Council was unanimous in approving the change to:
“The Jeff Holton Memorial Trophy”. Jeff Holton was very active in the Edmonton Minor Football Community. He was a big part of the rise of the Edmonton Stallions to a championship calibre team and he was instumental in forming & coaching the Parkland Panthers. Coach Holton passed away 2 weeks ago.

Source: AFL Website

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply