CJFL: A brief Hilltops, Sun history lesson

These two clubs have met seven times since 1988

The Okanagan Sun and Saskatoon Hilltops have been here before, playing for the National Championship, twice as a matter of fact and both teams have won once.

In all this will be the eighth time these two storied franchises have met and the team that has won in this match-up has gone on to win six Canadian Bowls.

The first meeting was in the 1988 “Inter-Conference final” when the Sun claimed a 35-21 victory on route to the first ever national title, beating the Hamilton Jr Tiger Cats.

Three seasons later they again kicked off in the Inter-Conference final, the Hilltops getting a measure of revenge with a 41-27 victory, on route to a Canadian Bowl title.

In 1996, again in the national semi-final game the Hilltops beat the Sun 28-21 on route to another Canadian Bowl title.

Again three years later in 1999 these two clubs would meet yet again in the national semi-final.  This time the Sun squeaked by the Toppers 18-15, headed to Windsor but fell in the Canadian Bowl to the AKO Fratmen.

Then in 2000, the first national championship of the new millennium the Sun hosted the Hilltops in the Canadian Bowl at the Apple Bowl and won 36-28.  The game featured two very balanced teams offensively, with very good defences, much like this year.

The next season, 2001, the Sun and Hilltops again faced each other in the Canadian Bowl, this time on neutral ground and the Toppers blasted the Sun 45-11.

They faced each other one last time in 2002, back in the national semi-final game and again the Hilltops won a lopsided game 55-9.

In their previous seven meetings the Hilltops have outscored the Sun 233-157 and have won four times.

However in their two Canadian Bowl games, each team has won once, making the 2015 game the “rubber match.”

Just how dominate have these two franchises been?  Since the turn of the millennium and including this season at least one of these two teams have appeared in 10 of the 15 Canadian Bowls and have won eight of them.

Saturday November 7th one of these clubs will be crowned Nation Champions.  The Hilltops searching for their 18th, while the Sun are looking for their third title.  Kick-off from SMF Field in Saskatoon is set for 1:00pm.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply