CJFL (Canadian Bowl): PFC Dominance

The PFC has won five straight Canadian Bowls

Since 2000 the PFC has won 11 Canadian Bowls.

The Prairie Football Conference (PFC) has dominated the Canadian Bowl championship game in recent memory.  This Saturday the Okanagan Sun will have an opportunity to snap a PFC five game winning streak when they visit the Saskatoon Hilltops at 1:00pm.

The BC Football Conference (BCFC) hasn’t won this championship since 2009 when the Vancouver Island Raiders beat the Edmonton Wildcats, while the Ontario Football Conference (OFC) haven’t won since 1999 when the Windsor AKO Fratmen defeated the Sun.

On this five game winning streak the PFC has outscored the opposition 180-85 with the Hilltops winning four of them including last year’s 39-14 win in Langley.  The victory marked the Hilltops 17th national championship in their storied history.

The closest margin of victory for a PFC team on this five game winning streak was two points in 2012 when the Hilltops held on for a 23-21 win over the Rams.

The PFC’s dominance stretches back even further.  Since 2000 they have won the Canadian Bowl 11 times, the Hilltops winning eight of those.  They have outscored their BCFC and OFC opponents 422-288.   The game in 2008 was the only time since the new millennium that a PFC team did not appear in the Canadian Bowl. That season the Raiders beat the Hilltops in the national semi-final game before beating the Burlington Braves in the championship.

The five times since 2000 that the title game has been played in Prairies the PFC are a perfect 5-0 outscoring the opposition 187-70.

The game on Saturday has much more than a trophy on the line, Conference bragging rights again up for grabs.  The Sun are searching for their third national championship, first since 2000 and want the title back BC, while the Hilltops want to keep their dynasty alive and win their unprecedented 18th national championship.

The game kicks off at SMF Field in Saskatoon at 1:00pm.

The CJFL will announce their All-Canadians this week.  The Offensive All-Canadians on Wednesday morning at 10:00am PST, then the Defensive honourees on Thursday morning.  Following the Jostens Banquet of Champions on Friday night, the Major Award Winners will be unveiled.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply