CJFL Championship Series

A new brand will create excitement

The Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) is excited to introduce the “CJFL Championship Series.

During the 2016 CJFL playoffs, teams across the country will take their first step towards the National Championship Canadian Bowl and enter the Championship Series.

Both the BC Football Conference (BCFC) and Prairie Football Conference (PFC) will host the first round of their respective playoffs in October. The first round will now be referred to as the “Canadian Bowl Quarterfinals.”

Following the first round of the playoffs, the Conference Finals names will remain the same, for example the Cullen Cup in the BCFC.  However the two Conference Finals will be co-branded as the “Canadian Bowl Semi-Finals.”  The winners of these games will square off and meet for the Canadian Bowl National Championship game on Saturday November 12th in British Columbia.

“I think it adds to the excitement of the playoffs,” says CJFL Commissioner Jim Pankovich.  “As all eight teams enter the post season, they will all be reminded of what’s at stake with the branding of the Championship Series.  This introduction I think strengthens our ties across the country and gives fans one simple message.”

The CJFL Championship Series breaks down below:

October 15th – BCFC Canadian Bowl Quarterfinals
October 23rd – PFC Canadian Bowl Quarterfinals
October 29th or 30th – Canadian Bowl Semi-Finals
November 12th – 2016 Canadian Bowl (hosted in the BCFC)

The CJFL 2016 regular season opens in the BCFC on Saturday July 23rd, while the PFC and OFC each open their season on Saturday August 13th.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply