Football New Brunswick elects new President

Long time football volunteer Arliss Wilson was elected president of Football New Brunswick at the FNB annual general meeting held Saturday April 24th, 2010 in Oromocto, NB.

He has previously served terms as the president & secretary of Fundy Minor Football, Technical Director of Football New Brunswick and vice president of the New Brunswick Football Officials Association. He has coached and officiated at the peewee, bantam, jr. girls and high school levels and was a key figure in starting the atom division of Fundy Minor Football. Recently, he was one of 9 officials selected from across Canada to officiate at the Senior Men’s and Women’s flag football national championship in Hamilton, Ontario and he had previously officiated at the national U15 flag championship in Ottawa. In 2009 he received the Lifetime Service Award from Football New Brunswick recognizing his 25 years of volunteering in the football community.
“With my background in the many facets of football and with the help of many dedicated volunteers I will work to promote tackle, flag and touch football within New Brunswick” said Arliss Wilson. Plans for FNB include the inclusion of flag football in the middle school system and the promotion of all forms of football in the northern part of the province with special emphasis on the aboriginal community.
The AGM also saw a number of volunteer awards presented. Robert Touchie of Fredericton received the volunteer of the year award for Flag / Touch for his work in stabilizing and expanding the Fredericton Touch Football league. Barry Ogden of KV received a volunteer of the year award for his work in starting the Atlantic Football League (AFL). Michelle Harrison was recognized for her work in the Fredericton / Oromocto area for her involvement with female football. Vince Sturgeon received his award for his volunteer work at the bantam level. It was noted that Vince often coached more than one team per season in both spring and fall. Susan Ans from Sussex was this years winner of the Gridiron Award in recognition for her tireless work in developing football in the Sussex area which went from no teams in 2005 to an atom, peewee, bantam and high school teams in 2010. Ewart Kenny of Fredericton was a double award winner receiving both the Volunteer of the year award – Peewee and with his wife Sandra a Lifetime Service Award for his work in the football community as a coach and administrator since 1972. Byron and Charlotte Munro of St George (and formerly of Saint John) received a Lifetime Service Award for his work as an administrator, coach and an official.
Football New Brunswick is the recognized provincial sport authority for tackle, flag and touch football in New Brunswick.
Arliss Wilson can be contacted at [email] or at 506-672-2421

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply

Loading cart ...