The CFL Hall of Fame Class of 2022: Who’s Who?

It’s that time of the year! The CFL has announced the players and builders that will join the legendary Canadian Football Hall of Fame for 2022.


The Canadian Football League is becoming increasingly popular worldwide, bringing fans together and creating possibilities for other entertainment activities. A good example here is online sports betting, which combines the best features from the worlds of gaming and sports and creates local fan communities. For example, Ghana online football betting platforms are currently on the rise due to convenience and quality service oddsmakers offer – and the same is true for multiple countries in Europe and Asia. This is also why the Hall of Fame Class of 2022 gathers a lot of interest: to learn better this year’s CFL Hall of Fame class, let’s have a look at the CFL hall of famers for 2022.


Chip Cox (Player)

Chip Cox needs no introduction. This is one of the most successful linebackers in the history of the CFL. In his rich career, Chip Cox participated in 228 CFL games. With more than 970 tackles, 8 defensive touchdowns and 23 interceptions, Chip Cox easily made it in the Hall of Fame class for 2022.

Even though he was drafted by the Detroit Lions back in 2005, Cox spent most of his career playing for the Montreal Alouettes (2007-2018).


Ricky Ray (Player)

As with Cox, the next Hall of Famer for 2022 is also very well-known. Ricky Ray was one of the best quarterbacks during the 2000s and 2010s. He started his career playing for the San Francisco 49ers. His best accomplishments, however, came with the Edmonton Eskimos (2005-2011) and the Toronto Argonauts (2012-2018).

Ray was a CFL All-Star 7 times and won the Grey Cup 4 times (2003, 2005, 2012 and 2017). He retired in 2018, only one year after his last championship with the Argonauts.


Keith Evans (Builder)

Due to his service to the game, it was a surprise that Keith Evans wasn’t in the Canadian Football Hall of Fame until 2022. He made his appearance back in 1965 when he founded the Calgary Colts who have fought for the Canadian Junior Football League (CJFL) since then.

Until 2019, Keith Evans was recognized as one of the best managers of CJFL. He served the sport as a general manager for approximately 50 years.


Dave Ritchie (Builder)

Dave Ritchie is one of the most well-known CFL coaches. Since 1987, Dave Ritchie was the head coach for four different CFL teams: the BC Lions (1993-1995), the Montreal Alouettes (1997-1998), the Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1999-2004) and the Zurich Renegades (2011-2012).

With more than 100 wins in the major Canadian football league, he is one of the best CFL coaches ever.


Roy Shivers (Builder)

For more than 30 years, Roy Shivers was one of the best managers in the CFL. He played the game as a Running back for multiple years. But, his manager career was what ultimately forced the CFL to make him a Hall of Famer.

During his career as a (assistant and general) manager, he served the BC Lions, the Calgary Stampeders (won the Grey Cup in 1992 and 1998) and the Birmingham Barracudas.


Tim Tindale (Player)

Tim Tindale didn’t have one of the longest CFL careers we have ever seen. But, for 5 years and 4 CFL seasons (1994-1998), he was one of the best Running backs in the league. During his CFL career, Tindale managed to score 36 touchdowns (offensive and defensive).

He played mostly for the Buffalo Bills, but he finished his career  in 1998 playing for the Chicago Bears. At the same time, he is considered to be a legend for his hometeam, the Western Mustangs.


Paul McCallum (Player)

Paul McCallum was born in Vancouver in 1970. During his 13-year career he was one of the best Punters and Placekickers in the league. In the CFL, he played for the BC Lions, the Saskatchewan Roughriders and the Ottawa Rough Riders. He is one of the top players when it comes to scoring points.

In fact during his career he scored more than 3100 points. He won the World Bowl in 1996 and was declared a Grey Cup winner in 2006 and 2011. Of course he was a CFL All-Star two times, in 2010 and 2011.


Dick Thornton (Player)

Dirk Thornton (1939-2014) was one of the best CFL players during the 1960s. He was one of the few players that excelled in both offense and defense. In fact, he played both as a wide receiver and as a defense back.

During his CFL career, he played for the Winnipeg Blue Bombers (1961-1966) and the Toronto Argonauts (1967-1972). He was a three-time CFL All-Star in 1963, 1965 and 1971.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Comments are closed.