Top 5 CFL touchdown leaders: Who are Canadian Football’s Greatest Quarterbacks?

The CFL has had some of the greatest quarterbacks in football not to make it big in the NFL. The CFL’s style of football has led a number of players to succeed north of the border.

Passing now dominates football with teams leaning more toward playing the ball down the field vertically. While the rushing game is still a major part of the CFL, passing brings fans out of their seats. Canadian sports fans are preparing for the Grey Cup 2022 playoffs and debating whether or not Winnipeg Blue Bombers can win a third straight championship. Fans can visit meilleur cote paris sportif to get the latest betting promos before signing up to a new sportsbook.


The CFL’s top quarterbacks have left a lasting mark on Canadian football. Below, we count down the top 5 CFL touchdown leaders.


  1. Ricky Ray – 324 touchdown passes

Ricky Ray joined the Edmonton Eskimos in 2002 after starring at Sacramento State University. After brief time with the San Francisco 49ers as a member of the practice squad, Ray arrived in the CFL. Ray spent 16 seasons in the CFL spending time with Edmonton and the Toronto Argonauts. He compiled 324 touchdown passes across nearly two decades in the CFL. The No. 5 all-time touchdown pass leader won four Grey Cups during his time in the CFL.


  1. Ron Lancaster – 333 touchdown passes

In 1960, quarterback Ron Lancaster joined the Ottawa Rough Riders and started a 19-season CFL career. Lancaster’s time in Ottawa was short, playing just three seasons in the capital. He joined the Saskatchewan Roughriders and spent the rest of his career with the club. Lancaster tallied 333 touchdowns in an illustrious CFL career.


  1. Henry Burris – 374 touchdown passes

Canadian Hall of Fame inductee Henry Burris hurled 374 touchdowns in a 17 season CFL career. Burris played his college football at Temple University and had a few stints in the NFL with the Green Bay Packers and Chicago Bears, respectively. Burris won three Grey Cups winning two with the Calgary Stampeders and one with the Ottawa Redblacks.


  1. Damon Allen – 394 touchdown passes

Four-time Grey Cup winner Damon Allen passed for 394 career CFL touchdowns. Allen began his CFL career in 1985 with the Edmonton Eskimos. He played for seven different teams, including the Memphis Mad Dogs, the CFL’s ill-fated attempt at going into the American market. Allen retired in 2008 after a long career in the league. He played 23 seasons in the CFL in all with his longest run coming with the BC Lions.


  1. Anthony Calvillo – 455 touchdown passes

Former Utah State quarterback Anthony Calvillo is the CFL’s all-time touchdown pass leader with 455 touchdown passes. Calvillo entered the CFL in 1995 with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats. It wasn’t until 1998 when Calvillo joined the Montreal Alouettes that his career took off. Between 2002 and 2010, Calvillo won three Grey Cup trophies. He picked up the Grey Cup MVP award in 2002 as the Alouettes defeated the Edmonton Eskimos 25-16.

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Comments are closed.