2014 NSSAFFL Major Awards & All-Stars (Division 1): Hutchins named MVP, CFC 100 Harvey honoured

The Nova Scotia Student Athletic Federation Football League announced today their Major Awards and All-Stars in the Nova Division (Tier 1) for the 2014 season.

Charles P Allen Cheetahs Greg Hutchins has been named Overall MVP.  In addition to MVP honours, the 6’3, 200 pound standout was also named the Outstanding League Kicker/Punter.

Overall, the Cheetahs, who are vying for the Tier 1 Championship this weekend, nabbed four major awards.  Will Chamberlain was named Co-Offence MVP while Malcolm Hyde received Co-Defence MVP.

Citadel - Ian Farrell

CFC 100 Jon Harvey from CFC#35 Citadel Phoenix is Lineman of the Year.  Furthermore, the Phoenix, who will battle the Cheetahs on Sunday for the Championship at Saint Mary’s Huskies Stadium, grabbed two more honours – Jacob Morgan was named Co-Rookie of the Year and Lian Young is Co-Special Teams Player.

Sir John A MacDonald Flames were also honoured with three awards – Jack Chiasson was named Co-Defence MVP, Adam Bennett Co-Rookie of the Year and Owen McGowan as Special Teams Player.

Prince Andrew Panthers running back Nick Green shared with Chamberlain Co-Offence honours.

As for All-Stars, CFC#35 Citadel Phoenix fielded the most players with 10 selections. Charles P Allen Cheetahs had eight selections while Sir John A MacDonald Flames had nine standouts.




NSAFFL Division 1 Major Awards 2014

MVP Division 1  – Greg Hutchins, Charles P. Allen
MVP Offence – Will Chamberlain, Charles P. Allen
MVP Offence –  Nick Green, Prince Andrew
Lineman of the Year  – Jon Harvey, Citadel [CFC 100]
MVP Defence – Malcolm Hyde, Charles P Allen
MVP Defence – Jack Chiasson, Sir John A. Macdonald
Rookie of the Year – Jacob Morgan, Citadel
Rookie of the Year –  Adam Bennett, Sir John A. Macdonald
Outstanding Kicker/Punter – Greg Hutchins, Charles P. Allen
Special Teams Player  – Lian Young, Citadel
Special Teams Player  -Owen McGowan, Sir John A. Macdonald

Citadel versus PA 2014 NSSAFFL Semis

NSAFFL Division 1 All-Stars 2014

QB Simon Richardson, Citadel
RB Nick Green Prince, Andrew
RB Tyler Martin, Citadel
RB Will Chamberlain, Charles P. Allen
FB Owen McGowan, Sir John A. Macdonald
REC Ian Farrell, Citadel
REC Thomas Hoyt, Sir John A. Macdonald
REC Greg Hutchins, Charles P. Allen
REC Riley Jennings, Cobequid Educational Centre
REC Garet Jewers, Charles P. Allen
REC Ryan Merlin, Sir John A. Macdonald
O-Line Jon Harvey, Citadel [CFC 100]
O-Line Ted Curren, Citadel
O-Line Angelo Gentile, Halifax West
O-Line George Yuill, Charles P. Allen
O-Line Chris Daley, Auburn Drive
O-Line Bruce Landsberg, Cobequid Educational Centre
O-Line Morgan Larson, Sir John A. MacDonald
O-Line Brock O’Brien, Horton

Robie Holland
D-Line Drew Erskine, Cobequid Educational Centre
D-Line Isaac Melanson, Horton
D-Line Robie Holland, Sir John A. MacDonald
D-Line Josh DeGruchy, Sir John A. MacDonald
D-Line Malcolm Hyde, Charles P. Allen
D-Line Tommy Grant, Citadel
D-Line Lian Young, Citadel
LB Matt Bayne, Charles P. Allen
LB Brad Bevan, Charles P. Allen
LB Ben Deturbide, Prince Andrew
LB Jack Chiasson, Sir John A. MacDonald
LB Nick Bennett, Sir John A. MacDonald
LB Cory Knockwood, Cobequid Educational Centre
DB Jonah Williams, Citadel
DB Connor Gascoigne,  Citadel
DB Nate Adams, Citadel
DB Matt Valardo, Prince Andrew
DB Dion Thomas-Hodges, Auburn Drive
DB Debraun Lewis-Mayo, Auburn Drive
DB Liam Cook, Sir John A. MacDonald
DB Luke Oulton, Horton
DB Andre Boudreault, Charles P. Allen

Photo credits: Mona Ghiz, Joe Chrvala and Mark Kays

(twitter: http://twitter.com/vohra_ameeta)


Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply

Loading cart ...