The Best CFL’s Offensive Linemen of the Last Decade 

Each year, the Canadian Football League chooses one between two winners of the West and East Divisions who will be awarded the Most Outstanding Offensive Lineman of the year. Before 1973, there was a single award for both defensive and offensive players, which was given to the best player regardless of his position in the field. Starting from 1974, there were established two separate awards for defensive and offensive players. Today, we want to remind you who were the best offensive players of the last decade. So, let’s start! 

Top-10 CFL Offensive Players of the Last Decade 

Canadian football is a highly- competitive sport, therefore, being a top CFL player means receiving increasing attention from the public and getting exclusive offers. Everyone is talking about the CFL superstars: both white collars during the lunch, a company of friends while having a barbeque, or slot streamers during their broadcasts. Who did a great job to win the favour of the judges and public? Here is the list of the best offensive players of the last decade. 

  • 2010 – Ben Archibald – this man managed to win the Grey Cup twice: with the Calgary Stampeders in 2008, and with BC Lions in 2011. He received the CFL’s award at the peak of his career while playing for Stampeders. 
  • 2011 – Josh Bourke – most of his career he played for Montreal Alouettes, with whom he earned the title of the best offensive lineman of the year. 
  • 2012 – Jovan Olafioye – while playing for BC Lions, Jovan received the CFL West All-Star title six times, so getting the CFL’s best lineman award was not a coincidence. 
  • 2013 – Brendon LaBatte – having received three consecutive CFL East Division All-Star awards (2009-2011), he continued with winning the Grey Cup in 2013 with the Saskatchewan Roughriders, getting the award of the year.
  • 2014 – Brett Jones – this is another Calgary Stampeders’ star who managed to move from NFL to CFL and win the Rookie of the year in 2013 and Offensive Lineman of the year in 2014. 
  • 2015 – Sir Vincent Rogers – changing the teams from year to year, this player has reached his success playing for Ottawa RedBlacks. In 2015, he was awarded both as the CFL All-star and Offensive Lineman of the year. 
  • 2016 – Derek Dennis – this player moved many times from NFL to CFL and back, but playing for Calgary Stampeders brought him the title of the best among the offensive linemen.

  • 2017-2018 – Stanley Bryant – this offensive player managed to win the award of the year twice while playing for Winnipeg Blue Bombers. 
  • 2019 – Chris Van Zeyl – we are finishing our rating of the best offensive linemen with the Hamilton Tiger-Cats tackle. 

 Having recalled these legendary players, the only thing left is to predict who may become the next CFL offensive star. Leave your ideas below in the comments. 


Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Comments are closed.