2017 IFAF Women’s World Championship begins Saturday in Langley

Ottawa (June 21, 2017) – The top women’s tackle football players from around the world are set to take part in the third edition of the IFAF Women’s World Championship, June 24-30, 2017 at McLeod Stadium in Langley, BC. The US, Canada and Finland return as the respective defending gold, silver and bronze medalists who are joined by first-time participants Great Britain, Australia and Mexico.

Canada first to hold tournament outside of Europe
This summer marks the first time that the Women’s World Championship is held outside of Europe as Stockholm, Sweden and Vantaa, Finland hosted the 2010 and 2013 events respectively. It also marks the first time that Canada will host an IFAF tackle football competition as the nation twice hosted the Flag Football World Championships in 2008 and 2010.

Champions to be crowned on June 30
Based on the opening two days of action, teams will be re-ranked based on record and play for gold, bronze and fifth place on June 30.

Canada begins quest for gold against Australia 
Canada opens their 2017 tournament against Commonwealth rival, Australia. The host nation enters the third Women’s World Championship looking to improve upon a pair of silver medals. Led by head coach Dr. Jen Welter, the first female coach in the NFL, Australia will make their women’s world competition debut against Canada.

The United States kick-off their quest for a third straight IFAF Women’s World Championship on June 24 as they open the competition against first time tournament participant Mexico. The United States has won each of the first two editions of the event, securing their last crown by defeating Canada in 2013.

The final opening day match-up sees a replay of the 2015 European Championship final between Finland and Great Britain. Finland, who placed third in both 2010 and 2013, will face Great Britain, the third nation to make their Women’s World Championship debut in Langley.

Canada to face winner of Finland-Great Britain on day two

On June 27, Canada will face the day one winner of Finland versus Great Britain while the United States will face the day one matchup’s losing side. Australia will face Mexico in a battle of tournament newcomers.


Ranking in brackets. Game times and order to be announced shortly.

June 24, 2017 – Game Day 1:

Finland (3) vs. Great Britain (4) – 11:30 a.m. PT, 2:30 p.m. ET

United States (1) vs. Mexico (6) – 3:30 p.m. PT, 6:30 p.m. ET

Canada (2) vs. Australia (5) – 7:30 p.m. PT, 10:30 p.m. ET

June 27, 2017 – Game Day 2:

Australia (5) vs. Mexico (6) – 11:30 a.m. PT, 2:30 p.m. ET

United States (1) vs. loser of Finland (3) / Great Britain (4) – 3:30 p.m. PT, 6:30 p.m. ET

Canada (2) vs. winner of Finland (3) / Great Britain (4) – 7:30 p.m. PT, 10:30 p.m. ET

June 30, 2017 – Game Day 3:

Teams will progress to the final game day based upon their records in the previous two game days.


The tournament is being streamed live online. Visit www.footballcanada.com or www.wwc17.ca to catch all the action on game day.

Source: Football Canada

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Leave a Reply