Huronia Stallions Registration Information and Award Winners

Huronia Stallions Name 2018 Award Winners and Announce 2019 Registration Dates

by Jason Romisher

The 2018 season was the 26th in program history and was a successful one with both the Bantam and Varsity teams advancing to the Ontario Football Conference Playoffs. The Varsity team defeated the league champion Oshawa Hawkeyes on the road during the regular season and were narrowly defeated by a strong Scarborough Thunder team in the playoffs.

Several current and former Stallions players and coaches are also making news at the university football level. The Stallions currently have six former members of the program coaching with Canadian university football programs. These include Kyle Graves who was recently named the Offensive Coordinator at Mount Allison, former CFL coach and current Acadia assistant Josh Lambert, and Tyler Honeywood (Acadia), Nico Alves (Mount Allison), Tivon Cook (St. Francis Xavier), and Jeremy Rogers (Windsor).

Several Stallions players have also committed to university football programs including Kayden Peters who dressed at St. Francis Xavier this past fall. 2019 commits include: Zechariah Willems (Mount Allison), Chris Costigan (Mount Allison), Lucas Pyz (Guelph), TJ Wallin (York), and Kail Dava (Tennessee Tech). Tyler Dekkers and Devin McGuirk also competed in the 22 and under Canadian Junior Football League for the Hamilton Hurricanes and GTA Grizzlies respectively.

Registration Information:

Barrie: February 9, East Bayfield Recreation Centre, 10am-2pm.
Orillia: February 23, Rotary Place Orillia, 10 am-2pm
All equipment is provided and registration includes insurance and team picture. House League players also get to keep their jersey.

Eligibility and Cost:
Competitive Travelling Teams: $640
Varsity, Year of Birth – 2000, 2001, 2002
Junior Varsity, Year of Birth – 2003, 2004
Bantam, Year of Birth – 2005, 2006
House League: $540

The house league program is run on a non-competitive basis. Scores are not kept in games, players play equal time and are encouraged to play a variety of positions in a fun atmosphere.

Colt: 2005, 2006
Pony: 2007, 2008
Mustang: 2009, 2010

For more information visit or to register online visit, email [email protected], or phone 705-826-3502

huronia stallions registration

The Huronia Stallions recently announced their 2018 individual award winners for their Varsity, Junior Varsity, and Bantam teams. Award Winners are:

Defensive MVP: Zechariah Willems
Offensive MVP: Cruz Beaudry
Top Lineman (The Whaler Award): Chris Costigan
Top Rookie: Gavin Wallin
Most Improved Player: TJ Pusey
Pride Award: Jordan Travis and Andy Shrubsole
Top Special Teams Player: William McCulloch
Ryan Clarke Memorial Scholarship Winner: Kayden Peters

Junior Varsity
Defensive MVP: Victor Garcia-Lopes
Offensive MVP: Mark Arrizza
Top Lineman (The Whaler Award): Connor Wherry
Top Rookie: Marcus Tenney
Most Improved Player: Nico Burton
Pride Award: Rio Campo
Top Special Teams Player: Lucas Janicki

Offensive MVP: Will Howard
Defensive MVP: Aaron Lavers and Cam Taylor
Top Lineman (The Whaler Award): Nolan Chalmers
Top Rookie: Jake Sheppard
Most Improved Player: Mackenzie Jackson
Pride Award: Ethan Travis

Advocating for football prospects one story at a time.

Comments are closed.